Modern Starts CD

Modern Starts CD
Item# 014489
Regular price: $16.95
Sale price: $13.56

Product Description

Music: 1880-1920 Rich orchestral and ragtime melodies are featured in this popular CD created for the Museum of Modern Art’s first installment of MoMA 2000. Experience the buoyant spirit and harmonic beauty captured in the music of the Impressionist era. Featuring works by Claude Debussy, Scott Joplin, Maurice Ravel, George Gershwin, Igor Stravinsky and others. Included are memorable images by Picasso, van Gogh, Kandinsky and Matisse. Running Time: 55:25

1. Claude Debussy “Cortege” from The Petite Suite (3:48)

2. George Gershwin Novelette in Fourths (2:02)

3. Scott Joplin Maple Leaf Rag (2:52)

4. Igor Stravinsky Ragtime for 11 Instruments (4:41)

5. Maurice Ravel Piano Trio in A Minor – Pantoum (Assez vif) second movement (4:26)

6. Claude Debussy La Romance d’Ariel (4:25)

7. Igor Stravinsky “Infernal Dance of Kashei’s Subjects” from The Firebird Suite (4:09)

8. Maurice Ravel Pavane pour une enfante défunte (5:29)

9. Claude Debussy The Girl with the Flaxen Hair (2:48)

10. Erik Satie Gnossienne No. 1 (3:48)

11. Aimé Doniat Si tu le veux (1:24)

12. Maurice Ravel “Le Jardin Féerique” from Ma Mère l’Oye (2:46)

13. Igor Stravinsky “The Royal March” from Histoire du soldat (2:40)

14. Claude Debussy Prelude to “The Afternoon of a Faun” (9:44)